Ipsy – December 2014 Review

20141220_145716

*sad trombone noises*

Ipsy
10$ Per Month – Free Shipping
Ships Early/Mid Month via USPS

Suddenly last month’s bag doesn’t look quite so terrible.

20141220_145952This bag feels cheap. SO CHEAP. It’s basically a dollar store pencil case. I do like the cheesy plastic heart charm though. I miss June’s bag…

20141220_145827Beauty Without Cruelty A.H.A. 3% Facial Cleanser
This cleanser is 100% vegan. It’s also 100% drying. It smells pleasantly of citrus.

Swissco Electroplated Eyelash Curler
I’ve never tried an eyelash curler before. My eyelashes have quite a bit of natural curl to them, so this didn’t really do anything for me. At least it’s a pretty color.

20141220_145859Pixi by Petra Fairy Dust in Brightening Bare
Even if I were to wear eyeshadow, I sure wouldn’t wear this one. It’s way too peachy-orange for my skintone. The applicator is terrible and manages to drop loose shadow everywhere. The color looks almost purple and shimmery from the container. It actually looks nothing like that.

Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes 4-in-1 Mascara
I don’t wear mascara, but my mother swiped this up quickly and seems to love it. It doesn’t clump at all, and is easy enough to remove.

20141220_145915NYX Cosmetics Butter Lip Balm in Parfait
A lip product! A NYX lip product! Unfortunately, I already own every color of this balm (which is why this one is still sealed), and can’t really see myself buying it again. Considering it’s supposed to be a balm, it’s awfully drying. Roughly half of the colors (this one obviously not included) just don’t show up on my lips either. Never ever wear this over cracked and dry lips.

20141220_152301Pixi & NYX

20141220_145716This bag probably doesn’t look so bad to anyone who uses eye makeup. Will I wind up using any of the products this month? NOPE. I’m not sure I could dislike a bag more than this, so next month has to be better!

Now it’s Beeju’s turn! As usual, I got two ipsy bags this month.

ipsycleanserBeauty Without Cruelty Cleanser
I like the premise behind a vegan cleanser but I have to agree with D Lys on this one – it’s too drying. It would be just fine if you have oily skin, though. It smells kinda chemically to me too.

ipstbottlesBumble and Bumble Bb Repair – Blow Dry
Rarely do I ever blow dry my hair so I’ll be saving this for a time when I actually do. It does smell really good though.

Nourish Organic Eye Cream
Eh.. basic eye cream with a strong avocado scent. Nothing too special.

ipsybalmNYX Butter Lip Balm – Parfait and Red Velvet
I actually like the butter balms though I agree they can be a bit drying with no color payoff. I have both of these colors already too, so these will be gifted.

Tarte Lights Camera Lashes
My favorite mascara in the world. I don’t mind getting tiny samples of this because it prevents me from having to buy a big version for a little longer.

Crown Brush Dual Ended Eye Brush
Ipsy sent out this very item not too long ago but I don’t mind it either because I can always use more brushes.

ipsypolishesCailyn Mineral Eye Polish – Orchid
For a product that touts itself as an “orchid” shade, it sure is NOTHING like the purple it’s supposed to be. It’s actually a very neutral champagne color. I really like the applicator too, unlike the next products…

Pixi by Petra – Fairy Dust
The color and applicator on this just all wrong… it almost looks dried out.

ipsyapplicatorsCailyn is a perfect example of the proper way to do an applicator. Pixi just… what the hell happened? Just ew.

ipsyall

So those are my ipsy bags for the month. The bag itself is “okay” but kind of humdrum. I like most of the products I got overall but there’s some that just aren’t too great, like the pixi for example. I have cancelled one of my bags so here’s hoping that my lone ipsy bag is just fine in January.

Both D Lys and Beeju paid for their ipsy bags. All opinions are my own. Referral links.

2 thoughts on “Ipsy – December 2014 Review

  1. I got some of the same products. The Cailyn shadow was nice and I like the applicator too. The BWC cleanser is in my closet waiting to be used. I think I will wait until summer when my skin is a little oilier. I am jealous of your NYX lip butters because mine is a really unflattering nude shade.

    Like

    • I find that most of the nude shades don’t even show up on my lips at all. The shades that do manage to find every last lip line and sit in them. I want to love those balms so badly, but they just let me down.

      Like

Tell us what you think -

