KISS Instawave Review


The KISS Instawave is a brand new hair tool that promises “effortless curls” with an innovative new automatic curling iron with a crazy design.

instawaveKISS InstaWave Automatic Curler
59.99$
Also sold in stores like Ulta and Target

instabackThe back of the package. From KISS:

“The revolutionary KISS InstaWave is a fully automatic tangle-free curler that instantly creates beautiful, long-lasting curls with ease (No Need to be a Pro).
No longer do we need a professional to style our hair to perfection. Instantly create beautiful, long-lasting curls with just the touch of a button with the KISS InstaWave, a fully automatic tangle-free curler.”
I love hair tools, especially gimmicky ones that promise effortless results with little time. I’m very bad to just throw my hair up and fly out the door looking like a glorified hobo because my hair is so ridiculously thick and long. I both liked and disliked this tool for a couple of reasons, the main one being there was a steep learning curve. This isn’t your mothers hair iron. A few things make this more unique: the prongs “grab” hair (not always a good thing), and it goes in two directions.
demo
You’re supposed to hold the tool far from your head for curling. The iron shines blue when its ready to go. It only has two settings, “Inferno” and “Still way too hot to touch.” The prongs constantly rotate to keep the ends of your hair in place.
sidebysideSide by side comparison, the left is my hair naturally, the right is with the InstaWave.
hairstyled
Close up of the right side. This took me well over an hour to achieve, which is not normal for me. I kept having a serious issue with the styler “grabbing” pieces of hair that were already curled and thus causing frizz and tangling despite the package promising it wouldn’t tangle, as seen below:
hairfrizz
The curls simply weren’t as smooth as I’d expect. My first attempt was “okay” but my second, executed a day later had infinitely better results.
kissday2
Day two went flawlessly, and I managed to create beautifully layered ‘waves’ with very little effort. The only thing I did differently was not hold the iron so close to my head so the curls weren’t nearly as tight as they were in the first photo. The frizz was still there, but it was drastically reduced.
Pros and Cons:
  • It hums upon plug in and seems to consume an inordinate amount of electricity, the lights in my vanity flickered the entire time this was in use
  • The prongs on the curler are really bad to “grab” pieces of hair that have already been curled and cause frizz
  • The cord is thicker, almost of industrial strength and is quite wobbly and weighted
  • It adds a ton of shine and moderate smoothness
  • Thick haired users will have a difficult time with this iron

I actually liked this iron and will use it regularly now that I know how to use it in a way that works for my hair type and texture. There is a big learning curve at first with this iron, but once you master it for your own hair type you’ll be pleasantly surprised at how easy it is to use and get the curls you want. Those with shorter hair will have much better results as well, especially if that hair is thinner. Overall I do recommend it if you’re in the market for a new hair iron. Be warned it gets quite hot so you’ll want to use a heat protectant.

Beeju received this product for review complimentary of the BrandBacker program. All opinions are my own and no compensation was received.

2 thoughts on “KISS Instawave Review

  1. That looks really pretty 🙂 Great job! I was worried that since it’s shorter it may not work so well, but your hair looks fantastic.

    Kristin
    http://prettyloved.com

    Like

Tell us what you think -

