Sample Society – October 2014

Generally you can determine my interest in a box depending on how long it takes me to review it after receipt. I got this on October 7th, and it’s the 26th. :/

ssAllure Sample Society
15$ Per Month – Free Shipping!
Ships Early in Month via UPS

ssopenAllure Sample Society is a monthly sampler that focuses on more “high-end” (I use that term quite loosely) and is curated by the editors at Allure. A note before continuing, I took these photos in a hurry at 6AM before leaving for work, so that’s why the background is wonky, my wall isn’t melting.

ssmagEach box comes with a mini-mag that details the items and why the editors chose it. The mag is always one of my favorite parts of the box because the editors tend to include a lot of snark and are brutally honest when a product doesn’t do what they say it should.

sshairtieEmi-Jay Hair Ties
A lot of people hate hair ties and consider them “non-item filler,” but I personally can’t get enough of them because I constantly wear my hair up. These are useful.

ssperfumeBond no.9 Chinatown
I immediately told myself to hate this regardless of scent because it’s 200$ a bottle, but it worked out because this scent is ridiculously strong. I honestly have nothing to say, too strong, move on.

ssmasBobbi Brown Mascara Sampler
This has been getting rave reviews and is considered one of the better items in the box. I just can’t get excited about mascara samplers because I have like 400.

ssesteeEstee Lauder – Dark Spot Correcting Night Serum
This caused a bit of controversy because it was originally advertised as a full sized item when it’s actually a smaller sampler. The only thing I like about this is the fact you don’t see this brand in other sub boxes. Literally, that’s it.

ssshampLoreal Total Repair Extreme Shampoo/Conditioner
This is another controversial item because “LOREAL ISN’T HIGH-END,” which I have to agree, these are the sort of samples you could e-mail Loreal about and they’d send you enough to last a year just to push their product. It does smell good, so that’s a plus.

ssallSo this box was a big bunch of “mehhhhhhhhhhhhhh” for me. I like the hair ties, that’s pretty much it. It takes a lot to get me excited about a box anymore, and this fell way off the mark.

So yeah, Sample Society is 15$ a month.

Beeju paid for this box and all opinions are my own. Most random review ever, meh. Meeeeeehhhhhh.

9 thoughts on “Sample Society – October 2014

  1. I’m getting November’s box. I hope it is much better than this!

    Like

  2. I just subscribed but my first box won’t be til next month.

    Like

  3. Sadly, this was my FIRST experience with Sample Society…not impressed at all. Hoping next month is better…

    xoxo Elyse

    Like

Tell us what you think -

