Portland Bee Balm Review & Giveaway!

20140929_152059It’s time for a review and our very first giveaway! Unbeelievable!

I’m so sorry for that.

…No I’m not.

Fun fact: I’M TERRIFIED OF BEES

Portland Bee Balm is a company that specializes in these nifty balms with neato wooden packaging. A little history:

PortlandBeeBalm_bees“Brad Swift’s love of honey bees and experience as a beekeeper was the genesis for Portland Bee Balm. Brad and his wife Anika have kept bees at their homes in Portland, OR since 2009.

When Anika ran out of lip balm, Brad decided to try creating some for her using the wax from their bees. The lip balm was a hit with Anika, their friends, and their family, so, after carefully perfecting the recipe, they started selling it at local stores.”

PortlandBeeBalm_productAnd here we are, with a handmade lip balm review! Portland Bee Balm very kindly sent us this balm for review. ❤

Beehold!

Help I can’t stop.

20140929_152219Portland Bee Balm comes in two varieties, Oregon Mint and Unscented. Oregon Mint smells delightfully of peppermint, while Unscented smells faintly of honey (which I assume is unavoidable when the product is mainly beeswax). Neither one has any flavor. As someone who has a bad habit of constantly licking her lips, I really appreciate this.

20140929_152311These balms contain only three or four ingredients depending on which kind you get. In case my picture is a bit blurry, the ingredients are: local NW Oregon beeswax, organic cold pressed extra virgin coconut oil, organic California extra virgin olive oil, and organic Oregon peppermint essential oil (this isn’t present in the unscented balm). All ingredients are from sustainable and/or local sources. 100% of the beeswax used in these balms comes from the beehives of northwest Oregon beekeepers.

One thing that immediately jumps out at me is the packaging. The plastic tube is actually wrapped in real wood. It makes a satisfying noise when you twist it open for the first time. The wood is non-pulped, meaning that it uses fewer chemicals and less energy during manufacturing. The label was even designed and printed by small businesses in Portland. The ink is soy-based, reducing the use of fossil fuels.

20140929_152410For something so simple, I was really pleased at how well this lip balm worked. It applied evenly and didn’t feel greasy at all. My lips weren’t chapped either. My favorite thing about this balm has to be how well it works under certain lipsticks. I’ve been using it beneath a particularly patchy lip cream, and said lip cream now looks much smoother. Score!

If you’re in Portland OR, check out the Portland Urban Beekeeper Contest which Portland Bee Balm holds in conjunction with Bee Thinking, where you can win beekeeping kits and support local beekeepers in the process! Bees are serious beesness.

I regret nothing.

Portland Bee Balm retails for $2.99 and can be purchased in over 400 stores in the Pacific Northwest. If you don’t live anywhere near there (like me), it can be purchased online here. They also sell a seriously awesome t-shirt (bee-shirt???) that tempts me mightily. Check them out!

The generous folks at Portland Bee Balm are willing to give you a chance to win some of their goodies! You can enter to win two balms, 1 Oregon Mint and 1 Unscented!

To enter all you have to do is click our handy-dandy link to the RaffleCopter Widget.

>>CLICK ME FOR BEEEEES<<

The giveaway is open to US residents only, starts now and ends on 10/25. Good luck! 😀

Disclaimer: This product was provided by Portland Bee Balm for an honest review. All opinions are our own and no compensation was received. Giveaway is sponsored by Portland Bee Balm and Portland Bee Balm is responsible for distribution of bee goodies.

43 thoughts on “Portland Bee Balm Review & Giveaway!

  1. Thanks for this giveaway! I love lip balms and these look awesome! =)

    Like

  2. How exciting! Man, I miss the Northwest. I just think like a Northwest-ian. Thanks for introducing us to this “buzz”-worthy company!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my goodness I just found your site through Instagram. Love!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like bees. I don’t like being stung by them, but I like watching them, and using their sweet honey, and the fact that they pollinate plants.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m totally ok with bees! As long as they aren’t stalking me. Stalking is never ok. NEVER.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Memebox – New Boxes, Codes, and Sales | Beeju Boxes

  7. I’m also unbeelievably terrified of bees. I got an uncalled for beesting beefore and we have since beecome mortal enemies. But I do still love honey and lip balms, so I guess I still have to bee thankful for their beeautiful products.

    Ok sorry for the lamesauce comment, but thank you for the giveaway! I love trying new lip balms 🙂 Thanks for feeding my addiction!

    Like

  8. I love bees and I love supporting companies that protect them! Also love that it is organic!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. i really want to win this but i couldn’t wait so i bought a tube! lol

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Bzzzz… This is going to BEE so awesome if I win! Bzzzz you’re hilarious bzzzzz…

    Like

  11. Yay! Thanks for the awesome giveaway! I always need more lip balm! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Tell us what you think -

