Birchbox – September 2014 Review

bbboxBirchbox
10$ Per Month – Free Shipping!
Ships Early/Mid Month via Newgistics

bbopenBirchbox is one of those cult boxes you hear about when you first get into subscription boxes. It’s a nice box overall, you get anywhere from 4-7 samples “kinda” tailored to you but 99% of the time it’s random. They recently implemented a “choose your own sample,” feature, where you get to pick one sample and get surprised by the rest. The samples this month were all high-end skin cleansers so I just let the Birchbox gods surprise me. Apparently with high-end skin cleaners.

bbcardThere are around 50 variations on boxes each month, so mine may not be anything like yours. Each one comes with an info card detailing the item, it’s use and price. Each item in your box is sold at the Birchbox shop, and you can use Birchbox points to pay for those items if you love them. Their points system is amazing – you get 10 points (1$) per item review you do on their site, and the points can add up. Some months will get you 7$ depending on how many items you get.

This month is also their anniversary so they sent out limited edition packaging! Isn’t it cute? There’s three variations and if you don’t want yours, give it to me.

bbfaceDr. Jart Pore Minimalist Mask
I had no idea that Birchbox even sent out or sourced face masks. This is an all black face mask that’s infused with charcoal.

bbcathCathrine Malandrino Style de Paris Sample
The full size of this sucker is 110.00$. I have no issue with this little sample other than the words have partially rubbed off the side (which either means heat damage, manufacturing error or it’s just old), it’s a perfectly fine nighttime scent but the price tag is pure 100% grade A Beeju repellant. Yeesh.

bblotionPerlier Body Cream
This has next to no scent which is a good thing, but it’s really greasy. I like my lotions/lotion hybrids to absorb quickly so I feel like I have nothing on my skin and certainly so I don’t feel the need to compulsively wash my hands after. The grease consistency makes me feel like I just jumped in a big vat of crisco. It does heal dry skin in record time though, so that’s a plus.

bbcynCynthia Rowley Beauty Eyeliner – Silver
Normally I really dislike getting eyeliner in boxes because every box sends out eyeliner but I do quite enjoy getting colors I don’t have, and silver is that color. I got this eyeliner in black in the past and wasn’t impressed, but this silver one is a smidgen better. It does get quite smudgey but the color payoff is gorgeous. Plus I like shiny things.

bblizLiz Earle Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser Starter Kit
This is a nice set of packaging for a random moderately high-end cleansing system. I’m gifting this instead of using it because Memebox has me stocked on cleansers until I turn 52. I’ve seen this in other boxes over the last several months so I can’t say I didn’t expect to get it at some point. It’ll make a nice gift at least.

bballSo this wasn’t a very highly successful box for me, though I did like it overall. I hope that Birchbox continues this trend of letting you pick a sample, though I would have liked to have seen a makeup one. I’d definitely peg Birchbox as a mixture of everything.

If interested, Birchbox is 10$ per month and you can sign up by clicking here.

Beeju paid for this subscription. All opinions are my own. Referral Link enclosed.

8 thoughts on “Birchbox – September 2014 Review

  1. I chose the Davines conditioner for my sample but the Liz Earle cleanser was my second choice. I definitely want to try it at some point!

    Like

    • I got the Davines conditioner in a earlier box and it’s perfectly lovely. The Liz Earle cleanser makes the rounds in Birchbox quite a bit so you’ll get it eventually 😀

      Like

  2. We’re box twinsies!! Yey for silver liner. I don’t have a stock of face cleansers so I’m looking forward to trying it all..and the Liz Earle box..too cute. 🙂

    Like

  3. Would love to get the Liz Earle kit and I am hoping my eyeliner I should be getting is also silver not black. It looks black on the preview on the website but they often get those wrong. Praying it is wrong because I DO NOT need another black eyeliner. Anyway I like two of the items in your box quite a bit. The others are just whatever so I feel ya.

    Like

    • I think if you got black before you automatically get silver, but I couuuuuld be very wrong. Either way BB is good about correcting issues when they send out duplicates. 😀

      Like

  4. Wow love how your Liz earle came beautifully packaged in that box. The Birchbox Box Cover this looks pretty cool also x

    Liked by 1 person

Tell us what you think -

