Allure Sample Society – August 2014 Review

Allure Sample Society… the box I have been avoiding like the plague for months now. It was always notorious for sending out very skincare heavy boxes, with many a mixed review, then went through a reboot where it focused more on makeup and higher-end brands. This is the second box in that reboot.

ssallureAllure Sample Society
15$ Per Month – Free Shipping!
Ships Early in Month via UPS

The reboot changed pretty much everything about this subscription. Their signature cardboard black box changed to a very shiny red one that’s almost plastic in texture. The types of items changed significantly. They were once very skincare heavy with the occasional nail polish or gloss. They’re also focusing much more on the more expensive brands, as you’ll find out below –

ssallEach box comes with white squiggles (the old SS was black squiggles that shed on absolutely everything), a mini-magazine that doubles as an info card, a coupon for 10$ off 50$ on BeautyBar.com, and a “Share” card encouraging photos. I absolutely love the info book. I know that sounds entirely odd  but the magazine is brutally honest and a bit snarky. The box is curated by Allure’s editors and I appreciate the transparency in the info. Seems like not enough companies are honest about the real quality of an item anymore.

ssciateCiate’ Paint Pots Mini Polish – ChaChaCha
Hello there tiny bottle of neon orange polish. The info mag claims it’s much brighter actually on nails than in the pot itself. I haven’t tried it yet, but I think I may not have the skin tone to pull this off without looking like a hot mess. It’s a bit intimidating to say the least.

ssoribeOribe Surfcomber Tousled Texture Mousse
This smells amazing! I need this same scent in a different product type – which if I’m guessing right, Oribe makes a whole variety of haircare products. Unfortunately I really didn’t like the look. My hair is very thick on it’s own, and this just made me look like I had a horrific case of bedhead. The info card/mag hybrid says you’re supposed to apply it to the ends of your hair while dry and then work it in. Honestly the only thing I liked about this can was the smell.

sstooToo Faced Melted Liquified Long Wear Lipstick in Melted Peony
Too Faced is one of my all-time favorite makeup brands. Their Amazing Face foundation is the only foundation I’ll use. This brand won my heart in so many ways. This spoiler was the reason that Sample Society got my money. This lipstick/stain/matte balm tho? I’m not 100% sold. I tend to lean way more towards shiny gloss than a matte hybrid. This is quite drying, and it applies a bit patchy. The color is much more mauve than I expected too. Do I like it? Yeah, I do. It’s different, and I don’t own anything like it. The info mag says to put on some sort of hydrating balm or to exfoliate before application, that you want the matte effect but it can be tarnished if your lips are dry or chapped beforehand. I’ll probably pick up some different colors to see if I like those better.

ssmasJane Iredale Longest Lash Thickening and Lengthening Mascara in Black Ice
This bottle did a full on houdini. I thought it was a skin cream at first, but ta-da… a huge mascara wand appeared. This mascara is perfectly adequate; it thickens very well but adds next to no length. It’s an okay mascara but nothing extraordinary. The mini-mag says it takes several coats to get it to look how you want it to, but the formula on the brush is quite thin. The formula isn’t watery either. I don’t know that I’ll reach for this again, I have a ton other mascaras that I like the effect of better. Maybe if it had a different brush? The brush itself is shedding its fibers too.

ssoilKate Somerville Dilo Oil Restorative Treatment
I get a ton of facial oils in these subscription boxes. I mean a ton. I have an entire drawer full of oils that have been tried once or simply banished to the abyss to be forgotten about. I tend to really dislike these oils because A) my dry skin couldn’t even be fixed by dermatologists, and B) I hate the feel of these. This is thankfully a little different. It has a scent that’s lemony but is clearly not lemons (great descriptor Beeju) and it does feel quite oily but it absorbs very fast. It did help my chronic dry skin but it didn’t completely cure it. I’ll still use this in its entirety as I’m sure this type of oil shows results with prolonged use, but for now I’m digging the first impression.

 

Sample Society’s revamp is looking pretty good so far. I really like the box itself for regifting and storage, and the types of products included are overall better with generous sizes. I don’t know how long I’ll keep up with this box since I’m not over the moon about it in general, but I’ll check it out for another month or two. I really love the mini-mag thing (I know I’ve called it about 4 different things this entire article), and appreciate the honesty in it. It’s not an info card with a bunch of fluff trying to sell a sub-par product. It’s a book telling you the pros and cons of each item and how they suggest fixing it. Good job Allure. ❤

If interested, Sample Society is 15$ a month. They also charge tax depending on your state. Mine cost me an extra 90 cents, but I’ve seen others get hit with as much as 1.50$.

Beeju paid for this subscription. All opinions are my own.

 

Tell us what you think -

