Ipsy – July 2014 Review

 

20140720_121504Why yes, I was the last person on Earth to receive this month’s Ipsy bag.

Ipsy
10$ Per Month – Free Shipping!

Ships Via DHL/USPS

20140720_121523When I first saw the bag spoiler for this month I hated it. Now that I actually have the bag, it’s not as bad as I originally thought. I do really like this bag’s weird ravioli shape, leathery texture, and cute coin-shaped zipper pull. Unfortunately, the whole thing has a somewhat unpleasant odor. It’s also the most violently pink thing I have ever seen. Woof.

20140720_121623bareMinerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15 in Divine Wine

I’m not a big fan of eye products. That being said, I did like how this product was very easy to apply and didn’t smear everywhere. Unfortunately, this shade is so laughably too dark for me that when I applied it, it looked like I had been punched in the eye. To be fair, even the lightest shade would still probably be too dark for me. I like the idea of a BB cream for eyes, so if one in my shade of ghostly pale comes out I’ll be sure to try it. Why is this sample so tiny???

Beeju: It’s too dark for me too. It also begs the question, does an item that touts itself as a revolutionary cream eye shadow really need that many shades of brown?

20140720_121601

Pur~lisse Pur~protect Essential Daily Moisturizer SPF 30

WHY DO THESE THINGS HAVE SUCH LONG NAMES? This sunscreen seems like it shows up in EVERY. SINGLE. BOX. That being said, at least it’s usable for me. Boooring.

Beeju: Dear Pur~Lisse. I’m sure you’re a perfectly fine product but you can get outta my subscription boxes now. I bet I have enough Pur~Lisse samples and bottles to last me to 2020. Not even joking. It’s just like any other moisturizer.

Faith Aromatherapy Citrus-Ginger Anti-Oxidant Body Lotion

NOPE. I HATE GINGER SO MUCH. SO MUCH. Even the pink bag smells better to me. I can’t even try this out.

20140720_121703POP Beauty Sunkissed Bronzer

It’s full-sized! Unfortunately, like the eyeshadow BB cream, it’s just too dark for me. *sigh*

Beeju: I didn’t open mine because I have about 40 other bronzers but this looks too dark for me as well. Hopefully it can be blended out.

20140720_121756Elizabeth Mott Tints & Sass in Cherry

Also a full-sized product! This is a lip and cheek stain, but I only tried it on my lips. I loved it! It smells inoffensive! Hooray! It also stains lips a bright cherry color, which makes it an insta-fave in my book. I found the color to be long-lasting as well. It applied evenly too, so no blotchy lips for me!

Beeju: This was okay, I wasn’t crazy about the way it felt when initially applied but I did like the end result. I don’t know that I’ll readily reach for this though. It’s my first tint! I love the packaging too, it’s adorable!

My Rankings:

1. Tints & Sass
2. Ravioli
3. Pur~lisse
4. bareMinerals
5. POP bronzer
6. THAT GINGER LOTION (GO AWAY, GAAAAH!)

I hope next month’s bag will be better…

Beeju: Just like last month, we’re doing a dual ipsy review. Our bags are virtually identical with the exception of one item.

 

ipsy

 

ipsywhetwHet Nail Lacquer – Facetious
Apologies for the seriously grainy photo, but I couldn’t get a decent picture of what is a very lovely blue color. It’s a deep navy color that comes out slightly lighter than the bottle, but is a little on the thick side. It’s a very nice polish though.

ipsy2

I love the hot pink ravioli bag! It has to be my favorite ipsy bag to date, and I know I’ll use it religiously. This is probably one of my more favored ipsy bags in general. I love the variety in products and while I won’t use everything, I’m glad it’s not just a bag of moisturizers and face creams.

Ipsy is one of our favorite subscriptions, so if interested, it’s 10$ per month. It too has a points program but it is no where near on the same level as Birchbox’s.

This post contains referral links. All opinions are our own, and we each paid for our own subscription.

 

3 thoughts on “Ipsy – July 2014 Review

  1. I like your description of the bag as “ravioli” shape 🙂

    Like

  2. Love the whet polish! Laughing so hard about the ravioli. 🙂

    Like

Tell us what you think -

