Birchbox – July 2014 Review with Bonus!

bbjulyBirchbox
10$ Per Month – Free Shipping!
Ships Early in Month via Newgistics

Birchbox is one of my favorite subscription boxes, solely for their amazing points program. Basically you get 10 points per item you receive, plus 1 point per 1$ you spend in their shop. 100 points = 10$, and the points can be horded and spent in addition to regular cash. The points can be redeemed on limited edition Birchboxes and tons of other goodies in their shop. I’m currently hording mine for Christmas gifts.

bbjuly2

Birchbox is the original subscription box. They tend to lean more towards skin care/hair care instead of makeup, but they tend to send a variety. You’re gonna get a lot of repeat brands in this box though, which may or may not be your fancy. At the end of June, Birchbox sent out a mass e-mail offering an add on to your current box. You had the option of a hair product, a battery charger, or the headphones which I grabbed. Birchbox also let you pick a sample and it’s color! I wish they’d do that much more often (hintity hint hint).

bbjulycardEach box came with an info card detailing the items and their price. This particular Birchbox teamed up with Woman’s Day and included an info card for a subscription to the magazine, as well as an info booklet for different ideas. One day, onnnne day I will take a decent photo of an info card. Today is not that day.

bbjulyccSupergoop! Daily Correct CC Cream SPF 40
Teeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeny tiny sample! This is tinted and it’s supposed to self-adjust but I find that it’s still a hair too dark for me. It needs a good moisturizer underneath it, as I felt it really just exacerbated my dry skin rather than cover it/fix it whathaveyou.

bbjulynao

NAOBAY Body Radiance Lotion
I read somewhere that the major comment on this was how strongly it smelled of lemon pine sol. It smells exactly like lemon pine sol, and I actually really enjoy that. It does tend to brighten skin but it doesn’t seem to work any better or worse than any other lotion. I’ll use this consistently because mmmm… lemon scented floor cleaners. No, really, it’s a compliment!

bbjulymarcelleMarcelle New-Age Precision 8 in 1 Power Serum
This is a powerful serum meant to a multitude of things. I found it did brighten but not much else. This is the type of item you need to use for a moderate amount of time to get any sort of viable result. People tend to rave about the Marcelle brand on Birchbox.

bbjulyruffRUFFIAN Nail Lacquer – Relic
This is the item we were able to select this month. The other options were two other colors of the Ruffian polish, or two choices of Cynthia Rowley lip gloss. I love this polish. It’s such a pretty pewter color, and it goes on opaque in about 2-3 coats. Love the bottle design too. Ruffian is a clothing company who very recently got into the nail polish game. This also comes with a nail polish remover pad which works just as effectively as any other pad.

 

bbjulypal

Coastal Scents Revealed 2 Palette Sampler – Ballerina
Loooove! This is a tiny little sampler of a new palette from Coastal Scents, containing 4 colors. A baby pink, a shimmery mauve, a buttery gold and a burgundy. They’re pigmented and go on easily. This is a palette I may grab the full size of one day (BB sells it!). I love the gold color on the top right, it’s shimmery but is very versatile.

bbjulyhead2 bbjulyhead

Birchbox Extra – Coloud Pop Headphones
This is really neat. They’re a set of headphones with a microphone and a mute button, and they’re made of a thick rubber material so they’ll never tangle. I paid 13$ for these, and they’re quite nice. I love the colors and the sound quality is pretty decent.

bbjulyall

I actually really liked this box, and it’s probably my favorite Birchbox to date. I usually always like Birchbox as long as it contains at least one makeup item anyway, but the little Coastal Scents palette is way up there in one of my favorite items from Birchbox to date. If interested, Birchbox is 10$ a month, and you get 10 points per item reviewed. This box will net me 60 (6$) points back.

Beeju paid for this subscription and all opinions are my own. This post contains referral links.

4 thoughts on “Birchbox – July 2014 Review with Bonus!

  1. I am getting the naobay lotion in my birchbox so I am anxious to see how it smells now! My sister got the eyeshadow palette in hers and I thought the shades were really pretty!

    Like

  2. Check out your Women’s Health sub card– you should have the option of receiving the $9.99 refund if you don’t want to subscribe to the magazine.

    Like

Tell us what you think -

