Beauty Box 5 – July 2014 Review

BB5BOX

Beauty Box 5
12$ Per Month – Free Shipping!
Ships Mid-Month Via USPS

What no opener? No opener. I had nothing witty to say about this box, and this is probably going to turn into a pretty neutral review. This is the first box in a really long time that I wasn’t particularly excited to open, and was even less excited to go through. Forgive the craptastic photos, I went all “meh” on this about halfway through the box and just kinda didn’t focus, didn’t avoid background objects or avoid getting my hands in the photo. That’s what crop is for, amirite? I can’t fix the lighting, though. Well I could but that requires photoshop effort that I’m just not willing to give. Onward!

bb5box2bb5cardEach box contains five beauty items (hence beauty box 5), and is small enough to fit in your mailbox. There are variations on boxes though everyone got the same Revlon mascara. Everyone that got last months Boxycharm also got the same Revlon mascara. Everyone that got this months Pop Sugar also got the same Revlon mascara. Sensing a pattern? Revlon’s been whoring themselves out really pushing this product in the Beauty Box world this Summer.

bb5mas

Revlon Bold Lacquer Mascara – Blackest Black

The mascara is at least getting pretty good reviews, though. I really dislike the Revlon brand due to a bad reaction to one of the products many a year ago, so as a general rule I avoid them. This will go unopened and probably gifted or swapped. It’s not like I don’t have 400 tubes of mascara open anyway. The box also sent a 1$ off coupon for a future purchase of this mascara.

bb5maskHASK Argan Oil Intense Deep Conditioning Hair Treatment

This actually smells really good. BB5 says that half the packet will give you smoothness and shine that lasts for two weeks, making this a four week treatment. This is a very generously sized packet so I wouldn’t bank on using half of it in one sitting, lest you enjoy the gunkiness that moisturizing conditioners often leave behind. BB5 also says to leave this on for 10 minutes before rising which I personally believe is entirely too long for any hair product. Maybe I’m just a skeptic and this will end up being the holy grail of all hair conditioners. We’ll see.

bbrcurlMiss Jessie’s Multicultural Curls

BB5 says that this can be used on any hair type as long as the amount is moderated. I think I’ll just pass this along to a friend with the right hair type and texture defined in the packet to really get the benefits. It’s the same size as the HASK packet; both are very generous samples.

bb5pepBody Drench Candy Licious Lips – Peppermint

This item had variations on flavor sent out, and I wish I had gotten a different one. I really hate peppermint. This is sealed and will go to a lady who actually enjoys the scent.

bb5scrubAnna Naturals Glowing Mama Walnut Face and Body Scrub

I’ve been getting Beauty Boxes for many months now and I have never gotten any kind of scrub. That in itself is pretty surprising. This stuff actually smells really nice and is made from walnuts. The packaging really reminds me of an old film case. I was actually pretty thrilled to see this considering the other variations on boxes.

bb5allThis wasn’t my most favorite box ever, but reviews are full of opinions and opinions are very subjective. What was clearly a very lackluster box to me may be the holy grail of beauty boxes to another person, so it’s best to take any review with a grain of salt. That being said, I have cancelled this box. I’m getting bombarded with beauty products to begin with, but this was never really a box I was 100% interested in when I signed up all those weeks ago.

Well anyway, if interested, and if my horrific review (I promise this is no indication of how we normally do reviews here) has piqued your interested in BB5 in any way, feel free to join by clicking here.

Beeju purchased this box. As always, all opinions are my own. There is no referral link in this post.

Tell us what you think -

