Thursday Thoughts

TTGood-copyLinking up with Jen from Ramblings of a Suburban Mom for the Patriotic Edition of Thursday Thoughts.

Tomorrow is July 4th! My vacation, where did it go!? I’ve done absolutely nothing of value this week which was partially the intention, but I still feel like I have wasted this time. I’ve driven by the office quite a bit on my way to get the mail and unless they’re doing the interior renovations first, there is no second floor. There’s no one there but my boss, but he never leaves anyway.

Throwing the rest of this behind a read more because it got lengthy.

I bought a set of the Ariel brushes from elf last week and they arrived (thank you shoprunner 2-day shipping), and they’re just… horrible quality (kinda like my collage).

elf

They’re very, very pretty. I love the handles and the design but they’re simply not functional. These are not made for regular makeup routines. I knew I wouldn’t like the eyeshadow palette and I’m getting buried underneath lip products, so I opted for the brushes. I knew I wanted one part of the set, but I had hoped they would work a little better. These can’t pick up anything. At all. At least they’re pretty to look at and not horribly expensive. I found these on drugstore.com since I live no where near a Walgreens. I don’t own any elf products otherwise so I can’t speak for the quality, but I hope that this isn’t a consistent thing. I was considering the elf beauty bundle but if the brush quality mirrors these, I’ll pass. It’s not like elf is extraordinarily expensive anyway.

I started a no buy July to save up money for textbooks (I bought the brushes in June), and so far it’s going well. As part of my no buy July, I’m not subscribing to any NEW boxes, but I’m keeping my current ones. The temptation has been horrific though, HSN had a birthday sale with a LOT of Too Faced stuff (I’m a huge fan) and it was all heavily discounted and on flex pay. I stayed strong though, I really need to “shop my stash” and quit using the new stuff I get. I legit need to just put it up for trade or throw it in the giveaway pile. I’ve only been blogging for three months and am already buried, I can’t even begin to imagine how the much more popular bloggers are coping with their goodies. To be fair, they get a lot more than just beauty boxes too.

Did you guys see Threaded Canvas’ box reveal? I loved the box itself and the shirts inside seem like great quality. I never officially subscribed to this one because I wasn’t sure about the sizing or the style (I personally, would not enjoy a t-shirt with a banana on it), but I’m considering giving this a chance in the future.

Welp that’s it for me, here’s a listing of future programming –

Reviews Coming Soon: Madison Reed, Candy Japan, Memebox, Graze
Boxes Coming Soon: Nothing shipped yet!

New boxes this month: Okashi Connection, Kawaii Box, Memebox, Candy Japan (We randomly went international)

Slight programming note – we’re getting a lot of hits from people looking for the July Skoshbox. I unsubscribed from Skoshbox to save and buy books (seriously I’m going to be buried in school work). It’s not like 12$ a month is horribly expensive, but with Okashi Connection and Candy Japan on their way we’re getting overloaded with candy here at Beeju Boxes HQ. I fully intend on picking Skoshbox back up once things calm down.

4 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts

  1. I’m stopping by from Ramblings of a Suburban Mom. Have a wonderful July 4th.

    Like

  2. ooooooohhhh……I have been wantingg to try too faced liquid lipstick for about a month now but their expensive and to hear you seen too faced products on sail I know the lipstick was too. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ lol However I’ve been blogging for four months and is barried in products as well. If you want to swap something(s) let me know because I have tons of stuff I don’t want.

    Like

    • Heeeey I remember you from little black bag! ๐Ÿ˜€

      HSN’s sale was pretty great, I almost wish I had went for it. Apparently there was a 20$ off coupon roaming around too but it expired the 30th. D’oh! I absolutely love Too Faced but I’ve never tried their lip products.

      It’s nice to get all the goodies but it doesn’t take long at all to get overwhelmed by them. I need to get a swap list together, and as soon as I do I’ll throw it at ya. It probably won’t be very big though, I’ve got vultures who hover over any box I get!

      Like

Tell us what you think -

