Ipsy – June 2014 Review

20140614_151324

Hey guys! I’m here with my first ever Ipsy review. Ipsy is currently my only subscription, so I was super psyched to get my first glam bag.

20140614_151339

This month’s bag is a Hawaiian-themed Rebecca Minkoff pouch. I love EVERYTHING about it. The pineapple print is gorgeous and the dark background looks beautiful with the red lining. I think it’s my favorite thing about Ipsy this month.

20140614_151439

Be A Bombshell Lash Out Mascara

I have never used mascara. Never. I have very sensitive eyes (they react badly to many things) and shaky hands, so I dread any kind of eye makeup. I tried it for the first time today and actually didn’t completely hate it! It was very subtle, something many Ipsy subscribers are not happy about, but I happen to think it’s a good thing. This mascara is very slightly clumpy, and smells absolutely AWFUL. Seriously, it smells like machine oil. My eyes started watering immediately after applying this product, and judging by the reviews, it would seem I’m not alone. When I removed the mascara it flaked everywhere, including into my eyes. Surprise! I had a bad reaction to something in it and my eyes coated over with mucus for hours. NEVER AGAIN.

20140614_151612

Marc Anthony Dream Waves Beach Spray

THIS SMELLS FANTASTIC. I need to go out and buy a bottle of this right away. It smells strongly of coconuts, but it isn’t overpowering. My hair is very curly, so I was very excited to try a beach spray. When I sprayed it on damp hair it wound up drying in very nice waves and with little frizz. Yay!

20140614_151559

OFRA Universal Eyebrow Pencil

Eyebrow pencils are absolutely useless for me. I have very thick brows that have been shaped by years of electrolysis. Furthermore, this medium brown pencil is too light for my nearly black brows. My mother snatched it up and seems to like it though.

20140614_151633

Realtree for Her Perfume

I hate this perfume. I like fruity scents, and this seemed very woodsy-floral to me. It was so strong smelling it immediately gave me a headache. The pump also was stuck and took a while to get working.

20140614_151737

NYX Butter Gloss in Crème Brulee

This was actually my first time using a NYX product, and I was overall very pleased with this gloss. It smells sweet and delicious. I generally prefer lip products with more color (RED!), but I actually did enjoy this very pale pink color. I loved that the gloss was not sticky (a rarity!) and found it to have great shine. I’d definitely buy this in a more vivid color.

Even though there were some low notes for me in my first bag, I absolutely liked it enough (that bag! *swoon*) to keep my subscription. Hopefully next month I’ll get another lip product and some nail polish.

ipjall

Yo it’s Beeju; we decided to combine our reviews!

Ipsy
10$ Per Month – Free Shipping!
Ships early-mid month via DHL

ipjbag

What’s really neat about the bags this month is that all the prints are different. I totally thought that these were flowers when I first saw it, NO IDEA it was pineapples until I opened the bag. I like the colors, the navy blue and red are really well contrasting but I wish it was a different print than pineapples.

ipjcarol

Carol’s Daughter Sacred Tiare Anti-Breakage and Styling Cream

Okay this is magic. I don’t much care for the odor but the results were wonderful! It’s not 100% anti-frizz, which what product is, but it’s adequate enough.

i[jofra

OFRA Universal Eyebrow Pencil

This is a very soft pencil, and it’s too dark for my brows (reddish brown), and it also broke. I did like the result overall, but I’ll probably never use this again.

ipjntx

NYX Butter Gloss in Eclair

Surely you all know by now how much I love NYX cosmetics. This is one color of their butter gloss that I didn’t have and I am thrilled to say that it’s perfect for me. I’ve been wearing it constantly. This made the bag for me, despite it being worth half of it.

ipjreal

Realtree for Her

The reviews on this are very mixed, some love it and most seem to really hate it. I actually like it and found that it smelled fruity, even though D Lys disliked it. She said it’s woodsy and I can totally agree, but I also live in a forest so I guess I enjoy that smell? lol. I don’t think I’d buy this in a full size and it can be really overpowering if misused but overall I dig it. I’ll use it.

ipjeyeliner

Nicka K New York Shimmer Eyeliner – Electric Blue

PRETTY. Eyeliner is not something I use because I have the dexterity of a rock but this is actually a very gorgeous color.

ipjall2

We’re clearly ipsy enthusiasts and some months are much better than others. This month was one of the best for me so far. Ipsy and Birchbox are similar in the fact that they’re both sampling programs at 10$ a month, ipsy leans more towards cosmetics whereas birchbox is more random. Like Birchbox, Ipsy also has a points program where you can redeem 1000 points for a bonus item in your bag for that month. The bonus items change regularly.

If interested, feel free to sign up for Ipsy by clicking here. There is a waitlist, but several opportunities to get off it.

Both D Lys and Beeju purchased this subscription. All opinions are our own. This post contains a referral link.

4 thoughts on “Ipsy – June 2014 Review

  1. Pingback: Ipsy – November 2014 Review | Beeju Boxes

  2. Pingback: Ipsy – September 2014 Review | Beeju Boxes

  3. Pingback: Ipsy – August 2014 Review | Beeju Boxes

  4. Pingback: Favorites of the Month – June | Beeju Boxes

Tell us what you think -

