Birchbox #2 – June 2014 Review

Disclosure: This post contains a referral link.

Awhile back I posted that I had subscribed to a second Birchbox because of their half off coupon. This is the final box in that subscription.

bbj

Birchbox
10$ Per Month – Free Shipping!
Ships early in Month via Newgistics

bbjopen

It’s no secret that I was highly disappointed in my previous Birchbox. I am glad to say this Birchbox did make up for it, but not by much. There’s a theme this month, and it’s “Summer Hydration.” This tends to be a common process among all the subscription boxes; they tend to tailor their offerings to the season. This isn’t a bad thing, I just wish there wasn’t such an overabundance of lotion and face creams in the Summer.

bbjfull

The first thing I noticed about this box was that it had an odor. Some of the Birchboxes themselves do have odors anyway, due to being recycled cardboard. That’s just normal. This odor was really unpleasant, though.

bbjsham

Davines Love Smoothing Shampoo

This was the culprit. This shampoo smells very medicinal and the formula is very thin.

bbjfoie

Joie Folle de Joie

I got this in my last Birchbox, and I still love the scent so I’m pretty pleased to have a spare since the full size is 99$.

bbjvas

Vasanti Enzymatic Face BrightenUp!

Repeat item.

bbjsuper

Supergoop Everyday SPF30

This is another one of those “Birchbox BFF’s,” and makes the 4th time I’ve gotten this item in the last two months.

bbjpack

Davines Lovely Smoothing Conditioner, Multi-Benefit Treatment

This, like the shampoo, has a bad medicinal smell. I personally noticed no difference in it versus any regular shampoo/conditioner, but people on Birchbox are swearing by it.

bbjlip

LAQA & Co Lip Lube

Holy purple batman. This goes on more like a berry color and it’s actually very nice, but entirely too dark for me.

bbjalllll

Neither of my Birchboxes this month were true hits, and I was probably more disappointed in them than I should have been. Overall I still love Birchbox for its points program, and I hope to get a hit next month. If you feel so inclined, you can join Birchbox by clicking here. My apologies for the overly short review, there’s just something about this box that stifles my ability to write.

Beeju purchased this subscription. As always, all opinions are my own.

Tell us what you think -

