Birchbox #2 – May 2014 Review

Disclosure: This post contains a referral link

Welp. Beeju clearly didn’t think this through whenever Birchbox had their “First Box 5$” promotion a few weeks back. I purchased my mother a subscription thinking that I’d get my first box in June but nope, I got May’s box! Gotta give them props for promptness I guess?

bbox

Birchbox
10$ Month – Free shipping!
Bills 1st of Month
Ships mid-month via Newgistics

Quick Note: Some of these photos are HIGH CONTRAST and blurry because iPhones are fickle little beasts sometimes. Last time I use a box as a backdrop, yeesh. There’s a photo at the bottom that’s 100% better. My apologies to your eyes.

bbox2

If you’ve been following this blog for any length of time, you know my love for Birchbox’s points program. You get 1 point per 1$ you spend in the shop, plus at least 40 points a month for reviewing on their site. 100 points make 10$, and they add up fast. Unfortunately as I would soon find out, if you cancel your account for any reason, not only do you forfeit any points accumulated, but you lose access to the “what’s in your box” feature. Whoops.

binbox

This box, like all the other May boxes, features Kate Spade Saturday as well as a coupon for her shop, and an infographic on the importance of sunscreen. Birchbox seems to constantly push SuperGOOP! too, this being the third sample I’ve gotten from them.

bbcard

Each box comes with an info card detailing the total retail value of each item, if it were full sized. You can also buy these items in Birchbox’s shop, with points. Random inclusion but one of the first things you learn as a designer is that yellow and black are the two most highly contrasting colors. This was a Kate Spade decision, being that she’s big on geometric patterns and single bold colors… (Does BB not hire designers!? Why these combinations!?)

bbcrow

Cynthia Rowley Beauty Eyeliner

Cynthia Rowley is a brand that’s exclusive to BB… unfortunately I don’t wear eyeliner because every time I tried, I stab myself repeatedly with the pencil itself because I have the dexterity of a rock, so I’ll pass on this.

bbsuper

Supergoop! Everyday SPF

Another item I don’t use. This is the third supergoop I’ve gotten, I know BB really pushes the brand but I wish they’d be bff’s with someone else every once in awhile.

bbgil

Gilchrist & Soames Body Lotion

I got this in my other BB. I was pretty meh then, pretty meh now. I don’t have much to say about this other than it’s quite perfumey.

bbprotect

Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle Spray

This is one thing I’m actually happy to get a repeat of. It smells amazing, and works great too, albeit a little greasy. I still love this and use it religiously! I want a full size bottle but 21$ is a price I’m not willing to commit to.. yet.

bbharvey

Harvey Prince – Hello

This leaked a little in the box, but honestly all perfume samples do. If you stay subscribed to BB for any length of time you will get a Harvey Prince sample. Honestly this one is my favorite compared to the three I’ve already gotten, and I wouldn’t mind having a full size bottle of this. It’s not strong but not subtle either, it’s just all around pleasant.

bball

BB’s can be hit or miss but there’s around 50 different varieties, so there’s a high chance you won’t get the same one as your neighbor. I still love BB despite this being a box of mostly repeats, and will gladly keep my regular subscription. If interested, Birchbox is 10$ a month, with easily one of the best points programs in the business. If anyone wants the Kate Spade coupon, feel free to comment or contact me and I’ll gladly hand it over.

Beeju purchased this subscription. As always, all opinions are my own. Don’t listen to me, I’m grumpy.

Tell us what you think -

